Louis Vuitton America’s Cup World Series Toulon

The oldest sports trophy in the world

America's Cup

The 35th America’s Cup and the first stage

  • The oldest sports trophy in the world (1851)
  • Followed by 250 million sailing fans in the world
  • State of the art media coverage (4,3 billion TV viewers in 2013)
  • A showcase for technological innovation
  • A national sport and technology challenge
  • Large-scale economic fallout

The America's Cup, which was originally called the « 100 guineas cup », is the world’s oldest surviving sports trophy. This sailing race was created in England in 1851, at London’s Great Exhibition and was a match between British and American sailors. The first regatta was won by the black schooner « America » which gave the race its name. The second race took place almost 20 years later, in 1871, in Newport (USA). The America’s Cup regatta is always organised by the title holder, known as the « Defender ». The America’s Cup wears its name well, as the United States have won it 25 times consecutively since its creation.


  • Shorter boats (length reduced from 21,60 m for the AC72 to 15 m for the AC50)
  • Faster boats (upto 70 km/h or 40 knots)
  • Boats are built from compulsory identical techniques, meaning only crew performance makes the difference

The budget for the competitors has been divided by four.

Calendar and organisation

The 35th America’s Cup is being run between 2015 and 2017 over several events:

2015 and 2016 : Louis Vuitton America’s Cup World Series

First stage bringing together the Cup’s competitors. Racing is held over 2 days, with practice on Friday, and two regattas per day on Saturday and Sunday.

After the two years of World Series, a leaderboard is drawn up from the points won during the regattas. A bonus is granted for the next stage of the competition.

All the tour’s participants come together again for the final stages in Bermuda, in 2017.

2015 :

  • Portsmouth
  • Gothenburg
  • Hamilton – Bermuda  (ATTENTION : A corriger dans la version française - 3 courses en 2015, Hamilton étant la capitale des Bermudes)

2016 :

  • 27 - 28 February  in Muscat (Oman)
  • 7 - 8 May in New York (USA)

  • 11 - 12 June in Chicago (USA)

  • 23 - 24 July in Portsmouth (England)
  • 10 - 11 September in Toulon (France)
  • Dates to be confirmed (Japan)



America’s Cup Qualifiers « Quarter-finals »

  • Each boat races twice in a head-to-head against each of the other challengers
  • After each race, the winner scores one point, and the loser zero.
  • The four boats with the most points qualify for the next stage.

America’s Cup Challenger Playoffs « Semi-finals »

·         After each race, the winner gets one point, and the loser zero.

  • The semi-final winners are the first to reach 5 points
  • The two boats which win the semi-finals meet in a Playoff final
  • The winner of the Playoffs is the first boat to reach 5 points ; this boat qualifies to race against the Defender in the following stage : the Match

America’s Cup Match « Final »

  • A dual between the Defender, Oracle Team USA and the challenger
  • After each race the winner scores one point, and the runner-up zero
  • The first to reach 7 points wins the 35th America’s Cup

The competitors

The American Defender : ORACLE TEAM USA (Jimmy Spithill)

Winner of the 34th edition in 2013

Five Challengers

France : Groupama Team France (Franck Cammas)

United Kingdom : Land Rover Bar (Ben Ainslie)

Sweden : Artemis Racing ( Nathan Outteridge)

New Zealand : Emirates Team New Zealand (Glenn Ashby)

Japan : Softbank Team Japan (Dean Barker)


Find out more 

Restez connectés pour suivre les actualités de l’évènement !

Facebook : LVACWSToulon

Twitter : @LVACWSToulon